Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

March 23, 2013

Maroon takes spring game

New Page 1

MONROE, La. -- Rising sophomore quarterback Earnest Carrington hooked up with Rashon Ceaser for a 65-yard touchdown play with 8:15 to play in the second quarter to put the maroon team in front for good.

The maroon team got on the scoreboard first as Nathan Meadors scored from four yards out and Justin Manton was successful on the first of two PATs on the afternoon to put Maroon in front, 7-0, with 6:32 to play in the first.

The white team recorded its only points of the day on a 34-yard interception return by Rob'Donovan Lewis.  Lewis picked off Carrington and returned it 34 yards and Brandon Menard was successful on his PAT with 11:23 to play until halftime as the white team evened the game at seven.

Just over three minutes later, Carrington hooked up with Ceaser to reclaim the lead at 14-7 (Manton kick).

Manton was successful on one of two field goal attempts Saturday afternoon as his 40-yard field goal with 2:22 to play in the third quarter set the final tally at 17-7.  Manton's 29-yard field goal attempt with 6:23 remaining in the fourth quarter was no good.

The white team turned the ball over twice in the fourth quarter that allowed maroon to run time off the clock en route to the 10 point win.  Brayle Brown was sacked by Michael Johnson as Johnson forced a fumble that was recovered by Emmanuel Jefferies with 13:04 to play.  On the next white team possession, Brown was intercepted by Felix Blade and Blade returned the ball down to the white team's six yard line to set up Manton's field goal attempt.

As part of the 2013 Spring Game, the ULM football coaching staff handed out four awards as well as honored its captains and returning letterwinners.

The President's Award is presented to the highest achieving student-athlete who sees playing time on the field.  Winner - Cody Wells

Al Miller Award is a dedication to strength and conditioning.  Al Miller, a former strength and conditioning coach at ULM, is a member of the ULM Athletics Hall of Fame as a wide receiver.  Winner - Josh Allen

John David Crow Academic Award is given to the highest achieving student-athlete.  Crow is a former ULM head football coach as well as director of athletics and is a ULM Hall of Fame member.  Winner - R.J. Young

Chip Luffey Award is presented annually to a senior student-athlete who exemplifies sportsmanship, leadership and good character.  The award was established in 1981 in memory of Chip Luffey, a former ULM student.  Winner - Brent Leonard.

 The Warhawks 2012 permanent captains were as follows: Offensive Co-Captains - Kolton Browning & Brent Leonard, Defensive Captain - DaCorris Ford and Special Teams Captain - Brandon Hardy.

 ULM's returning letterwinners for the 2013 season are: Josh Allen, Cameron Blakes, Kolton Browning, Demiere Burkett, Jeremy Burton, Kentarius Caldwell, Trey Caldwell, Rashon Ceaser, Preston Coleman, Tony Cook, Cortney Davis, Centarius Donald, Vincent Eddie, Malcolm Edmond, Jyruss Edwards, Jon Fisher, Joey Gautney, Je'Ron Hamm, Colby Harper, Elliott Hilliard, Emmanuel Jefferies, Gerrand Johnson, Michael Johnson, Hunter Kissinger, Mitch Lane, Rob'Donovan Lewis, Darius Lively, Justin Manton, Tavarese Maye, DeVontae McNeal, Colby Mitchell, Austin Moss, Isaiah Newsome, Otis Peterson, Ben Risenhoover, Cody Robinson, Harely Scioneaux, Cordero Smith, Kevin Steed, Ray Stovall, Madison Tharp, Joseph Treadwell, Roland Veal and Monterrell Washington.



Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos WarhawkReport.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.