15 Warhawks named all conference

ULM picked up a high of 15 preseason selections as Phil Steele released his 2013
Preseason All-Sun Belt Teams Tuesday.  Other teams boasting double-digit
selections included Arkansas State, UL-Lafayette, Texas State and Western
On the offensive side of the ball, the Warhawks had seven players scattered
among the three teams.  First team selections included wide receiver Je'Ron
Hamm and offensive lineman Joseph Treadwell.  Hamm finished his
junior campaign with 62 grabs for 915 yards and six touchdowns, while Treadwell
started all 13 games as part of the Warhawks' front five in 2012.
Reigning Sun Belt Conference Offensive Player of the Year Kolton
Browning highlights a group of second team selections.  Joining Browning on
Phil Steele's second team offense are running back Jyruss Edwards and
offensive lineman Jon Fisher.  Browning finished his junior season as
the school's all-time leader in career touchdown passes and he is inching closer
to the all-time records in passing yards (needs 904 yards to set new record) and
total offense (needs 835 yards to set new record).  Edwards finished 2012 with
446 rushing yards and six rushing scores in just eight games and he sits just 10
rushing scores shy of a new school record for career rushing TDs.  He also
recorded 12 receptions for 157 yards.  Fisher, the final second team selection,
started all 13 games up front.
Tavarese Maye and Josh Allen round out the offensive
selections as the two ULM players were selected third team all-conference.  Maye
finished his junior year with 56 receptions, 512 yards and four scores --
including an 81-yard TD reception against UL-Lafayette.  Maye also rushed six
times for 45 yards.  Allen, like Treadwell and Fisher, started 13 games on the
Warhawks' offensive line.
On the defensive side, ULM had eight players named preseason All-Conference --
three first team selections, three second team selections and two third team
Earning first team accolades were Gerrand Johnson, Rob'Donovan
Lewis and Isaiah Newsome.  Johnson led the Warhawks a season ago
with four sacks while totaling 51 tackles (27ua; 24a) on the season.  Lewis,
meanwhile, finished with 69 stops (47ua; 22a), eight pass breakups, two
interceptions and two fumble recoveries.  Newsome picked off a team high four
passes while totaling 57 tackles (36ua; 21a) and five breakups.
Cameron Blakes, Joey Gautney and Ray Stovall were
second team All-Sun Belt honorees by Phil Steele.  Blakes tallied 18 stops
(12ua; 6a) and one sack before suffering a season ending injury against Baylor
(game three of season).  Gautney started all 13 games for ULM and finished with
37 tackles (23ua; 14a), 5.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks.  Stovall, who moved
into starting role after Blakes' injury, finished the season with a team-high
13.5 tackles for loss as he totaled 63 tackles (43ua; 20a) and three sacks.
Rounding out the All-Conference selections for ULM are third team defensive
selections Vincent Eddie and Austin Moss.  Eddie appeared in
all 13 games for the Warhawks and made 12 starts as he finished with 68 stops
(52ua; 16a).  Moss the third ULM linebacker to be honored appeared in nine games
for ULM splitting time between defense and special teams.